Skip to Content


The Knesset is the Israeli parliament and his located in Jerusalem. It is located near the Supreme Court of Israel.

The term “Knesset” is derived from the ancient Knesset HaGdola or “Great Assembly” which existed in Biblical times.

It was an assembly of 120 scribes, sages, and prophets. Likewise, there are 120 members of Knesset. Each member is elected to four-year terms.

The Knesset was first convened February 14, 1949, following the January elections.

It was originally located on King George Street in Jerusalem where the building still stands today.

However, the current building was constructed in 1966 in the Givat Ram neighborhood of Jerusalem.

Near By


Tour are given on Sunday and Thursday, no reservation require.

They are given in Hebrew, English, Arabic, German, Russian, Spanish, and French are available throughout the day.

Visitors are also welcome to sit in on debates.

Please note that the security measures are very strict, and all visitors must present a valid passport and wear modest clothes.

Tour Hours

Sunday and Thursday

Hebrew: 10:00 am, 11:00 am, 1:00 pm
English: 8:30 am, 12:00 pm, 2:00 pm
Arabic: 1:30 pm
French: 1:00 pm
Russian: 11:00 am
Spanish: 10:00 am
German: 8:30

Group Tours

For groups of 10 and above, coordinate your visit with the Knesset Visitor’s center at 02 -6753337.

Sharing is Caring

Help spread the word. You're awesome for doing it!