Dung Gate is one of the main gates of the Old City of Jerusalem. It is located in the Jewish Quarter and leads directly to the Western Wall.
The name Dung Gate comes from the mistranslated from the which would be Trash Gate which appears in the Book of Nehemiah.
It is probably named after the residue that was taken from the Jewish Temple into the Valley of Hinnom, where it was burned.
This ancient “Dung Gate” may not have been in the same location as the today’s gate.
This was the entrance to the the Western wall and Temple Mount used by Israeli soldiers during the Six-Day War during reunified of Jerusalem in 1967.
The gate was built as a small postern gate by the Ottomans designed for pedestrians and pack animals to pass through. However, it was widened for vehicular traffic in 1952 by the Jordanians, and again in 1985 by Israel.
Those who enter from the Dung Gate could see at their right the Jerusalem Archaeological Park, an impressive archaeology site that presents the remnants of Jerusalem from different eras.