The Rokach House, or Beit Rokach, has been restored and reconstructed just the way it was in 1887 to give visitors a sense of the beginning of Tel Aviv.
The house is located in the Neve Tzedek neighborhood which was the first Jewish neighborhood to be built outside the ancient city of Jaffa.
This was the home of Shimon Rokach, the neighborhood’s founder, and today is a museum which tells the story of the life at the time of the beginning of the First Hebrew City.
Unlike other neighborhoods established in the country at that time, Neve Tzedek was built without outside support.
Instead, it was built like a cooperative, with all settlers contributing money each month until the end of construction.
The order of houses being built was determined by lottery.
In the first phase, ten houses were built, including the Rokach House.
Each house contained two rooms with modern luxuries such as a personal outhouse and a privet kitchen located in the yard.
After a few years, a second floor and a copper dome added to the Rokach House.
After Rokach’s passing, his sons donated the house to the city, however, over the years the house was abandoned and became dilapidated.
Rokach’s granddaughter, Leah Majaro-Mintzrestored, restored the house with public financial support.
She preserved the house’s original character and appearance and today it also displays her artwork.
The museum displays of furniture, accessories, clothing, photography and shares historical background and short film screening.
Guided tours of the house and theatrical guidance for adults is available.
See the Rokach House webpage for visiting hours.